The Color of Love

I don’t listen to too much music, but when I hear a song that I like, I can become obsessive. I recently tried to rank my top FIVE favorite songs of all-time, and it was a lot easier than I thought it was going to be. I won’t bore you my list, but my number one favorite song in any given circumstance is The Color of Love by Boyz II Men. Nothing touches it. The natural vocal prowess of Boyz II Men is so refreshing in an era of music that relies heavily on automatic tuning to correct pitch.

Boyz II Men is not as good as they were in the ’90s, or even in the early ’00s. The reason is because their bass singer, Mike McCary, left the group in 2003, due to personal reasons. While many won’t notice a difference in their sound, the group is not the same, and will never be able to perform at the same level without him. Mike was the foundation of the quartet, providing the solid bass-lines that enabled the other three to razzle and dazzle in the treble clef. In basketball terms, Mike averaged 10 points and 13 rebounds a game, altered shots on defense, and started the fast break that led to easy points for the other three. After Boyz II Men won multiple championships, he retired, and the Boyz have not been able to replicate the success (1).

The obvious real life basketball example is Tyson Chandler. Tyson is the reason the Mavs won the NBA Championship in 2011. It is also no surprise that when he left Dallas to go to New York, Dallas didn’t repeat and New York became one of the best defensive teams in the NBA. Serious contenders need defensive big men to win championships. With that being said, I understand that Miami was an exception last year. I also understand that before that, the last championship team without a legitimate big man was the ’98 Bulls (2). I’m a traditionalist, so I think don’t think the Miami Heat will win the 2013 title.

Repeat: I do not think the Miami Heat will win the title.

Who will? If I could answer that, I would be a rich man in June. I’ve already told you who it’s not going to be; the Miami Heat or any other team without legitimate defensive oriented big men. My favorites to run the table in 2013? Boston, Indiana, San Antonio, Los Angeles, Chicago, and New York (3). If I had to bet today, I would bet on the Spurs and Celtics making it to the Finals (4). That may seem a little ridiculous now, but in a later post I’ll explain my rationale.

As a reward for reading my post, and for my own (and hopefully your) listening pleasure, I present Boyz II Men:

(1) Don’t get me wrong, I still listen to their new stuff, but it’s just not the same. It’s like Blue’s Clues with Joe. It still works, but will never be as good.

(2) I’m really not trying to start up the ol’ LeBron/MJ debate. MJ is better. 6 rings, 6 Finals MVPs, and no closer to take big shots for him. Wade is more MJ than LeBron, but no one brings that argument up.

(3) The Los Angeles Lakers. I think I may have hurt Blake’s feelings. At least the new flopping rules will limit the amount of time he lies on the floor when he reacts to this.

(4) To my credit, I’m three out of four for the last two years. I called Miami/Dallas in ’11, and San Antonio/Miami last year. I should be perfect. Still don’t know how the Spurs managed to blow it like they did.

Leave a Reply

